CRIMSON’S CORONER: V/H/S AND V/H/S 2

BANNER

VHS_Quad

Crimson here to let some of you in on two great finds…..V/H/S and V/H/S 2!

I heard about the first V/H/S through a Fangoria magazine and I knew I had to give it a shot. The film is done in the way of an anthology of short stories, much like Twilight Zone: The Movie, Creepshow, Tales From The Darkside…etc. One thing separates these films from the others though….the stories are all linked and shown to you through the concept of “found footage” films The Blair Witch Project made popular. This is done so much better though, in my opinion. I feel about it much like I felt about 2012’s Cabin In The Woods….so creative and original that I wish I would’ve came up with it myself.

My favorite part of V/H/S is the first short titled “Amateur Night” in which a group of buddies rent a hotel room with the hopes of bringing back some girls for an orgy. They rig a hidden camera on the nerdy friend’s glasses so they can document the events. Needless to say, it doesn’t quite turn out the way that they were planning.

vhs-image09top_20_mejores_peliculas_2012_reseña_critica_07_Tierra_Freak_Tierrafreak.com.arV/H/S debuted at the 2012 Sundance Film Festival in January 2012 and was released on demand August 31, 2012. If you can’t handle the “shaky-cam” technique, you probably will not enjoy this film. If you can put aspects of what you think you know about “found footage” films aside and give this movie a watch, you might fall in love the way I did.
945396_10151449041922322_1652299371_nWe all know how sequels can be. Some can be pretty unwatchable watered down versions of their predecessor.  I found this to NOT be the case with V/H/S 2.

V/H/S 2 is a lot like V/H/S when it comes to how the stories are told but the stories that are told are just as good, if not better than the original film. This sequel is by far more violent than the first movie. It starts up with the same flow as the original and then it smacks you with a “Safe Haven” story that has more on-screen violence then I have seen in recent history (with the exception of the newest Evil Dead). Sources say that the movie was rushed into production in late 2012 and that it was expected to be a let down and pale in comparison to the first film. I do not agree with those sources. While it may have been rushed into production, it gave me everything I love about horror…frightening images and on-screen gore!!!!!!

v-h-s-2 VHS_2_Safe_Haven_1_5_13_13V/H/S 2 also made its on-screen debut at the Sundance Film Festival in 2013…only one year later than it’s original. I couldn’t tell you at this current time which film I like best due to the fact that, for me, they both have what I like to call the “grab” factor…meaning it makes you pay attention. In which case, I would have to say these movies will be looked at differently in years down the road. If not…it is a goddamn shame that these movies will most likely not get the attention they deserve. Such is the case for 80% of the films I personally find art in. Well, enough reading my opinions about them….watch them and tell me what you think!

                                                                                                   – JDS

//

Leave a Reply

