mascara – Budapest/Chicago (CFX 3)

TAPES FTW

Yeah I Know It Sucks

Artist: mascara
Title: Budapest/Chicago
Label: Centipede Farm Tapes
Cat#: CFX 3
Keywords: Noise, Experimental, Ambient, No Wave
Reviewer: Alex Spalding

Youth. Laying on an uncomfortable floor next to a boombox listening to tape noise. Displaced lights, inhaling incense and cigarette smoke. I feel like it’s been too long since I’ve done this. mascara is the solo project of Sara Sci-fi, who was so nice as to send me two tapes for review. This is one of them. As a scientist of the fictional variety myself, I figured this would make for a good experiment: see how the tape effects me in the sensorial vat of my living room on a Tuesday afternoon. Here are my findings…

… the first track on side a is titled ‘of this, i am sure’. An electronic buzzsaw hums into focus, accompanied by a beautiful arrangement of synthetic sounds that create a bizarre ambient feel…

View original post 982 more words

Leave a Reply

